URL: http://community.realitytvworld.com/cgi-sys/cgiwrap/rtvw2/community/dcboard.cgi
Forum: DCForumID6
Thread Number: 37960
[ Go back to previous page ]

Original Message
"Hobbes, get your gun!"

Posted by kingfish on 01-23-13 at 11:02 AM
LAST EDITED ON 01-23-13 AT 11:05 AM (EST)

It seems Detriot tops a list of most dangerous cities.

Considering the present national debate, it would be interesting to cross reference those places with gun laws such as "Shall issue" permit laws, "gun possession" laws, clip capicity laws, ammo laws, etc. It would be more informative if the stats used to determine which cities were more dangerous were equally applied (they aren't, and Detroit probably gets somewhat of a bad rap), and if a lot more cities were included on the list.

Kinda interesting that two on the list are in Missouri. I wouldn't have guessed that. On the otherhand, I'm surprised that New Orleans (the only city on the list that I have a lot of experience with) is as low as it is. Going to an ATM unarmed in certian parts of NO is a death wish.

http://money.cnn.com/gallery/real_estate/2013/01/23/dangerous-cities/index.html

Table of contents

Messages in this discussion
"RE: Hobbes, get your gun!"
Posted by Snidget on 01-23-13 at 11:36 AM
St. Louis doesn't surprise me as I grew up near there. Shortly before automobiles were invented the City and the County divorced. The County at the the time was poor and rural and the city was tired of those takers over there dragging them down (really, that isn't a new argument at all).

So the City looked at the situation and decided on what their largest size could ever possibly be and drew a line in the sand and left the County to rot without their money.

Then cars came.

And lots of people moved out to the suburbs,

Then many of the businesses followed the people out into the suburbs.