URL: http://community.realitytvworld.com/cgi-sys/cgiwrap/rtvw2/community/dcboard.cgi
Forum: DCForumID62
Thread Number: 2079
[ Go back to previous page ]

Original Message
"Why all the marketing-based tasks?"

Posted by Hoobie on 03-29-06 at 01:17 PM
It seems that almost all of the tasks have a heavy marketing component. Even if it's a sales task, the marketing component is the crux.

I'm a financial analyst, and am not savvy in marketing - it seems very right-brained to me. Wouldn't it be more fair to have some left-brained activities thrown into the mix? Or some that are more balanced?

Table of contents

Messages in this discussion
"RE: Why all the marketing-based tasks?"
Posted by Estee on 03-29-06 at 01:25 PM
Because of the shilling. Right now, this series is really about earning Donald a few million extra dollars by letting other companies run one-hour commercials in prime time. The best way to get those corporations extra exposure within the episode is with a marketing-centered task, so -- marketing it is. Given that the entire series has been a marketing-centered task since Season #2, the contestants have gotten used to it. (Okay, since Season #1, but that one was mostly about marketing Donald.)

I'm still waiting for the jobs offered to the Final Two to be marketing-related. Go with what you've been forced to know.

Posted by LisaPles on 03-29-06 at 01:45 PM
I agree that all the tasks seem to be related to marketing. It would be nice for people who have concentrated their education in other fields to have an opportunity to show their skills.
I think that the concentration on marketing is due to the fact that so many companies have contacted the show wanting to have their products showcased. Obviously they pay money for the advertising within the show. It is probably getting increasingly hard for them to turn the $$$ down.
I agree with you that a better balance would make the tasks more challenging and the show much more interesting.